What I have done today –

Lecture on Diann Bauer http://diannbauer.net/ 

Staff talk on

Made a solution using sugar, water, liquid glucose, food colourings and cream of tar tar powder. I used this solution to make sugar glass. To do this I heated the solution to 150 degrees, took it off the heat, and then allowed it to cool to 130 degrees. I have made sugar glass before but never used a sugar thermometer. Furthermore this was the most success I have had creating it.

Below are some photographs of making the sugar solution

Belows photographs show the sugar before I had smashed it

Smashing the sugar glass and creating a mosaic of glass

Cooking the sugar to bind the shards and colours together to create a transparent plate of sugar, that mimics elements of a stain glass window (my flatmates enjoyed piecing the broken slabs together)

