What I have done today –

10-12 – I spent this time working with the rubbings I had collected in the previous week. I placed the rubbings over a blank piece of paper and applied pressure over the areas with charcoal on them. The images printed onto the paper and a feint mark was left behind. I repeated this with each rubbing on to each piece of paper until the charcoal would no longer leave a mark. Overall I was left with a trace/ journey of my day collecting rubbings of the architecture around Bath/ in my surrounding area.

1-2 – Course lecture at Sion Hill, this was a reminder lecture. We were reminded of deadlines, what is expected of us as a student at Bath Spa and a reminder of how we can use the facilities at the university to our advantage.

3-5 – I created a line drawing of one of the rubbings I had taken. I picked the rubbing which was most clear and which took my eye. I used a black sharpie to create vertical lines going down the page which extended from the marks of the rubbings. Following on from this, I started to play with matches, sand, thread, superglue, and other materials to see what effects they would have on the image.

I love the extension of line from the image, it almost looks as if it is dripping. From this, I started thinking about impermanence again (linking to my sand video art) and windows/ stained glass windows. I want to see if I can create 3d pieces or extended line drawings and have them be manipulated by ice. I want to see if the images become distorted by ice when help up against a sheet, when immersed in ice etc.

Furthermore I created a sample sheet of materials to try in ice.

17078217_10211191368872886_1064821132_n.jpg

It is visible that the ink bled a lot when placed into water, therefore I shall avoid this when experimenting with ice.

6-7 – Ran 10km for charity

7-8- froze my samples for ice experiment

Ideas-

  • Play with ice, impermanence, melting, add colour ?
  • Play with metal, bend metal, drape things over it, start making 3d work, try something new !!!!
  • Plastics?
  • Melting wax?
  • Using materials associated with architecture, ie wood, metal, glass, sand etc.
