What I have done today –

  • Today I put up my work for the 11 by 11 exhibition which starts tomorrow. Opening night is from 2-5 and we are all very excited. Below are some photographs of the work I have exhibited and how they are in the space. I did face a few challenges along the way. My matchstick piece has become very fragile as time has gone on and it was a struggle to get the piece up and sturdy. Due to not being able to use nails in the walls or damage the space in any way, I had to use stick on Velcro pockets to support the matchstick piece on the wall. According to instructions, it should be able to hold 16 pounds of weight. My matchstick piece is incredibly light so hopefully it will stay in place ready for the exhibition. I have also decided to exhibit my sketchbook which I will be putting in my locker. I am a little concerned that pieces may drop out or work will get marked but I have been reassured that there will always be someone in the house when the exhibition is taking place to ensure nothing gets damaged, and that the work is supervised. I am excited to see what peoples responses are to the works.
